Tags

, , , ,

TGIF!!!  Today’s Fabulous Friday blog post with Sisters In Stamping is all about techniques.  Stamping techniques do not have to be complicated to make a big impact.  I love trying new ones, but always fall back on my favorites I learned when beginning my stamping journey.

This week I am featuring 2 different techniques:  Water coloring, and masking.  This card uses images from The Wilderness Awaits, which is new from the annual catalog this year, and the classic Lovely As A Tree.

CIMG3207

Water coloring is simple, but may take a couple of tries to get the shading just right.  With this majestic elk image, I used three different browns to get the right look.  You just squish your stamp pad before opening the case to get some ink on the inside of the lid.  Then, using the aqua painter, pick up some color and begin painting the image.  I like to start with my darker shades first, but with a light hand, and then work into my lighter colors.  I don’t think there is a wrong way to do it, you just continue to add shades of color until you get what you want.

CIMG3205

Masking is SO easy, and a lot of fun.  For this card, I simply punched out a sticky note with my 2″ circle punch, positioned the circle on my card and sponged color to the entirety of my card.  I then removed the sticky note circle and had an instant moon!

This is a perfect masculine card.  I hope it inspires you to make something similar for someone special in your life.  Here are the products I used for this card:

Price: $110.00

Supply List

Built for Free Using: My Stampin Blog

Happy Friday everyone!!! If you’re blessed to have a long weekend, I pray you enjoy it with family and friends.

CIMG3206

